#### ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

(Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

Members Present: 20 May, 2016

The Mayor: Councillor A.P.H.Davies

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor Mrs.S.M.Penry

**Councillors**: H.M.Bebell, Mrs P.Bebell, A.Carter,

Mrs.A.Chaves, M.Crowley, D.W.Davies,

Mrs.R.Davies, Mrs.J.Dudley, M.Ellis, J.S.Evans, C.P.Golding, M.Harvey, S.K.Hunt, H.N.James,

I.B.James, Mrs.L.H.James, E.E.Jones,

M.Jones, Mrs.D.Jones, R.G.Jones, D.Keogh, E.V.Latham, Mrs.M.A.Lewis, A.Llewelyn, Mrs.K.Lloyd, J.Miller, Mrs.S.Miller, C.Morgan,

Ms.C.Morgans, Mrs.S.Paddison,

Mrs.K.Pearson, L.M.Purcell, S.Rahaman, P.A.Rees, P.D.Richards, J.Rogers, A.J.Taylor, A.Taylor, A.H.Thomas, A.L.Thomas, J.Warman,

D.Whitelock, Mrs.L.G.Williams and

A.N.Woolcock

Officers in S.Phillips, H.Jenkins, A.Evans, G.Nutt,

Attendance: R.George and Mrs.A.Manchipp

# 1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2016/17

On the motion of Councillor Mrs.S.Miller, seconded by Councillor Mrs.D.Jones, it was:-

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Mrs. Sheila Penry be elected Mayor

for the Civic Year 2016/17 pursuant to Section 23(1)

of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Mrs Sheila Penry then subscribed to the Oath of Allegiance administered by the Chief Executive and made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Mayor's Consort would be Mr.Glen Clarke and the Mayor's Chaplain would be the Father Neil Evans.

### 2. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR 2016/2017

On the motion of Councillor L.Purcell seconded by Councillor Mrs.R.Davies, it was:-

**RESOLVED:** that Councillor Mrs. Janice Dudley be appointed

the Deputy Mayor for the Civic Year 2016/2017 pursuant to Section 24(1) of the Local Government

Act 1972.

Councillor Mrs.Janice Dudley then made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Deputy Mayor's Consort for the Civic Year would be Mr.David Evans.

# 3. <u>INVESTITURE OF MAYOR'S CONSORT AND DEPUTY MAYOR'S CONSORT</u>

The Outgoing Mayoress Mrs.Linda Goode, invested the Mayor's Consort with his Insignia of Office.

The Mayor's Consort invested the Deputy Mayor's Consort with his Insignia of Office.

### 4. MAYORAL ADDRESS.

The Mayor, Councillor Mrs. Sheila Penry, then made her Mayoral Address and also took the opportunity to thank Members for their support in electing her as Mayor and to acknowledge the services of the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

## 5. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR.**

On behalf of the Council, Councillor John Warman was pleased to extend a vote of thanks to the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Arthur

Davies, for the manner in which he and his Mayoress had carried out their Mayoral duties. Councillor Mrs Karen Pearson was pleased to endorse the vote of thanks on behalf of the Council.

The Mayor then presented the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Arthur Davies, with his Past Mayor's Medallion and a Photographic Album, and the Mayor's Consort presented the Outgoing Mayoress with her Medallion.

#### 6. **RESPONSE BY THE OUTGOING MAYOR.**

Councillor Arthur Davies, in response to the vote of thanks, offered the Mayor and Mayoress his congratulations and took the opportunity to thank those who had given him support and encouragement throughout his Mayoral Year, including Members and Officers of the County Borough Council and his Chaplain.

# 7. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE</u> COUNCIL FOR 2016/2017

On the motion of Councillor E.E.Jones seconded by Councillor A.N.Woolcock, it was:-

**RESOLVED:** that, pursuant to Part 4, Section 1(1.1) of the

Constitution, Councillor A.H.Thomas be appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor P.A.Rees be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the

Civic Year 2016/17.

## 8. ADMINISTRATION ISSUES FOR 2016/17

The Chief Executive reported that, as it was not practicable for the various administration issues to be dealt with at the Annual Meeting, it was intended to convene a Special Meeting of Council on Wednesday, 25 May, 2016

**RESOLVED:** that the Administration Issues be considered at the

Special Meeting of Council to be held on 25 May,

2016.

The Mayor then declared the Meeting closed.

#### **CHAIRPERSON**